Will the Real Marco Please Stand Up?

Winter Classic

Great game today at Fenway. Great weather, great atmosphere. A come from
behind victory for the Bruins. After seeing that win, consisting of a last minute goal in
the 3rd period to tie it at 1, and then the game winner in extra time, I couldn’t help but
think back to Game 4 of the 2004 ALCS when the Red Sox did the exact same thing
to their life-long rival. Sure, the Flyers aren’t quite like the Yankees, but in Boston,
they’re hated pretty greatly was well. In fact, I don’t think I’d want to see the Bruins
beat anyone else at Fenway (although I would have loved to see the Canadiens or
Maple Leafs get taken down here). I don’t even think I’d want to see them beat the
Flyers in any other fashion. It just had to be like this. Pure brilliance.

Marco Sturm

I have to say – the last two days have blessed me with quite possibly two of the best
hockey matches I’ve ever seen. First, I get to see my Canadians come back from
behind against the Americans to win 5-4 in a shootout at the World Juniors, and then
a perfect encore today at the Winter Classic. And on an unrelated and yet
completed related note, I NEVER get sick of hearing Dirty Water over the
loudspeakers at Fenway. NEVER!

Did anyone else spot the funny coincidence today? Marco Sturm tapped in
the winning goal in OT, roughly around the area of the shortstop position. Is this a
good omen? One Marco instantly becomes a hero in Boston hockey lore, and
perhaps this sanctifies that very same position for Marco Scutaro for the next
2/3 years. Pure coincidence? I think not. I can already smell the Stanly Cup (Come
on Bruins – as the only Boston team to not bring home a championship over the last
decade, we need to open up the new decade with a win), and I think I smell a hint of
the World Series in October (after all, we’ve been winning on a 3-year plan lately).
Wishful thinking? I hope not.

Marco Scutaro

Just look at the shirt Marco’s got on there. With a shirt as crazy as that, there’s no
way he’s not a winner. No loser could walk around in that shirt (Kind of reminds me
of Kevin Millar … maybe the time they spent together in Toronto had some
adverse circumstances on Marco. Oh well, I’m not complaining.)

2 comments

  1. junojen

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I love your blog – great graphic in the header. How did you do that? As for Marco Scutaro – hey – just his name alone makes the guy cool in my book. Congrats on dating a boy with season tickets. Now that is what I call a soulmate! ha ha! Look forward to hearing more from you in the coming season.
    .
    Jen
    http://faithful.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

